I realize it may be blasphemy to admit this, but here goes:  I’m kinda “red velveted out.”  I know.  I know.  I didn’t really think it possible, but given that the world is on a cupcake kick lately, I’ve baked me some red velvet, a lot – we’re talking full-sized layer cake, regular cupcakes, mini cupcakes, you name it.  There was the test run for Mom’s birthday.  Then the actual birthday.  Then we had a few other parties here and there.  There were the ones I made for work, and then the pink velvet cupcakes I made for a baby shower.  (Total side note  – I just  saw somewhere recently that the birth rate is dropping in this country.  I don’t know about you, but I seem to be in the midst of a baby BOOM.  Well, not personally, but it sure seems like everyone I know…well, there must be something in the water.  That’s all I’m saying).  Anyway, back to the cupcakes.  So, we were having a little get together for a coworker, a somewhat  non-traditional baby shower.  Dad-to-be was invited, it was in the evening, rather than brunch, and there was minimal gift opening, and no diaper games.  It was wonderful.  Being a potluck, I offered to make cupcakes (everybody loves cupcakes!), but I was determined to bake something besides red velvet.  Somehow, I got it in my head to make strawberry cupcakes.  Not sure where – it wasn’t like I’d seen them around lately or anything.  It was probably because I LOVE strawberries, and we’re finally starting to have some of that summer weather that makes strawberries make sense.  I did a little googling around for recipes and came across one that had some very positive reviews.  Here’s what I ended up making, with a little tweaking to make up for ingredients I couldn’t find (I couldn’t find strawberry liquor, so I substituted some strawberry jam and Cointreau).  Big thanks to Katie at Good Things Catered for the wonderful recipe.  They were a hit!  And the frosting…the frosting tastes like Häagen-Dazs strawberry ice cream.  It is soooo good.  I definitely recommend that you make these with the ripest, reddest, strawberries you can find.  I went with organic, just for a little extra insurance.

Oh, and if I’m going to be any good at this blogging thing, I’m going to have to take more (i.e., some) pictures.  Sorry ’bout that.

Oh, great – I think that makes double blasphemy, all in one post.

