Those of you who know me well won’t be surprised.  I’ve been known to hurt myself in odd and unfortunate ways.  Remember the mousetrap-setting butt-bruise incident of 2008?  How about the scarlet fever of ’94?  The chin stitches of ’80 (and ’95) and the finger stitches of ’78 and ’97?  Well, add this to the list.

Some of you may know that I’ve played co-ed flag football for the last 6 years or so.  Most of you probably also know that I got engaged a couple of months ago.  Well, wouldn’t you know it?  I was playing flag football a couple weeks ago, and I went to grab some guy’s flags.  They’re attached to this belt that’s supposed to come off completely when pulled, but they got caught and didn’t come off.

See left ring finger

My fingers were wrapped around said belt.  The guy went down, and my fingers went with him, twisting in a wholly unnatural way as they did so.  I stood up, took one look at my hand, straightened my left ring finger back into place, taped it up at half time, and kept playing.  Yes, you read that correctly, my left ring finger.  Who else would injure their ring finger while engaged?! As my brother politely clarified for me, it’s not simply that I’m a klutz, it’s that I’m “mildly accident-prone combined with a high level of activity.”  That sounds better, doesn’t it?

After the game, my finger was very swollen and black and blue.  C fashioned a splint for me out of a tongue depressor from the first aid kit and some athletic tape.

A little better shot of the black & blue

I went to the doctor the next day, and based on the fact that I could bend it slightly and apply some pressure, she deemed it not in need of an x-ray.  Two weeks later, it was looking a little less straight, so I e-mailed the doctor, who then recommended an x-ray.

I had the x-ray this morning and the tech gave me the images on a CD to take to my doctor’s appointment.  So, of course, I looked at them first.  I’ve never had a broken bone before, but it seemed pretty clear – this was no sprain.  I made a PDF to send to my doctor prior to my next appointment, and she responded back the same night.  Looks like I need to make an appointment with an orthopedic surgeon.

Fun!

See 4th finger, intermediate phalange

not "the bird"

