I’m not sure how I feel about new year’s resolutions.  Part of me feels like resolutions shouldn’t wait for one date on the calendar to be implemented.  Part of me likes the idea of having an excuse to refocus on things I’ve been meaning to focus on…  There’s also the part of me that hates how busy the gym gets every January as everyone decides they’re going to work out more (fortunately, it always fades back to normal by about March).  Hopefully by putting these things out there, typing them “out loud,” so to speak, I’ll be more inclined to do them.  Maybe you all (three or four of you?) will help hold me accountable.  So here goes:

1.  Be healthy.

This is a recurring resolution, and one that I don’t think will ever go away.  It’s about ongoing lifestyle changes.  The older I get and the more little aches and pains my body produces, the more motivation I feel to keep in shape.  I’m pretty good about getting to the gym, but probably don’t push myself as far as I could or should.  How about a race this year – maybe a 10 or 12k?  And I definitely need more of the restorative kinds of healthy activity.  Must.  Stretch.  More.  And how about more massages and facials, or any for that matter (yay for groupon!).

2.  Be a better friend.

I’ll be the first to admit it – I’m terrible with the phone.  I don’t know when or how the aversion developed, but it’s there.  Since most of my nearest and dearest don’t live in my zip code, I need to come to a truce with my phone, if I want to achieve my goal of keeping in touch better.  What I’d really like is to see my friends more, so maybe I just need to think of the phone as the vehicle for making plans.

3.  Be positive.

I was watching TV the other night, and some still alive actor was being interviewed about another actor who had passed away.  I don’t know either actor, but the still alive one said about the no longer around one that, “he never had a bad word to say about anybody,”  and I thought, “wow, what a nice thing – I’d love for someone to be able to say that about me someday.”  So the only way for that to be possible is to live so that it can be true.  That means a little less road rage, a little less biting sarcasm, a few more deep breaths.

4.  Do creative things.

This goes for within, but especially outside of, work, and that includes writing more on this here blog.  Work can sometimes be draining, and I’ve found that doing creative, non-work things has a tendency to refill my creative tank.  Helping Em with flowers is always good.  I’ve got some knitting on my to do list.  Also, I’ve been attempting to teach myself calligraphy.  I get inspired by all these awesome design blogs, so now I want to put some of that inspiration into action.

How about you?  Have you made any resolutions, new year’s or otherwise?  Or have you resolved not to be so resolute?

