Spring arrived a couple weeks ago, and then winter came back for a visit.  The wind is blowing like crazy, and the forecasters are calling for hail!  In this in-between-seasons time, it’s hard to decide what to cook.  Last week, I stumbled across this recipe for Fennel and Zucchini Soup on Epicurious.com, and it’s just the right thing – springy ingredients as comfort food.  Yum.  Not to mention, it’s super quick and easy with only a few ingredients.  Double yum.

Zucchini and Fennel Soup

I’ve now made this twice in two weeks.  What can I say?  I like having hot lunches at work, and this is so simple.  The second time, I added a diced yukon gold potato to the mix, and it added a nice creaminess to the texture without the fat of real cream.

Tomatoes for Garnish

Here’s another important thing to note, and I speak from experience…

Let the soup cool a bit before pureeing in the blender, and do it in very small batches, or you WILL be cleaning soup off every surface in your kitchen within a several foot radius.

Zucchini and Fennel Soup - ready to eat!

Happy Spring!

